Day Eight, Play Eight.

“Pick a song, any song! Now write about it. Maybe the lyrics are the inspiration for the story? Maybe your memories from it? Or maybe an association”

One of my favourite, and for me, most evocative, songs is ‘Send Me On My Way’ by Rusted Root. I just love everything about it. (Including its associations with Matilda!)

But… I accidentally used music to replace all the dialogue and wrote a play with only two lines (well, one line – said twice…)

It draws on the use of puppetry and music to tell the story and I, personally, would love to see it live. Perhaps it could be part of a larger piece, like a flashback, backstory or dumb-show prologue. I don’t know, but I’m quite happy with it, onward and upwards!

Enjoy!*

Day 8: On My Way
*P.S. I’ve included the links to the songs in the text, the timing might not be great, but try playing them while you read!

Let me know what you think!

